Afreximbank welcomes Algeria as its 52nd Member State


African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) has announced that The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria (Algeria) has joined the Bank as a Member State. That brings the membership of Afreximbank to 52 out of the 55 African Union member States.
Algeria’s accession to the agreement establishing Afreximbank was formalised on 8 June 2022 by Presidential Decree No. 22-212. The subscription of the country to the shares of Afreximbank as part of its membership in the institution was also authorised by Presidential Decree n°22-222 of 14 June 2022. Algeria becomes a Class A shareholder in the Bank and will be represented by the Algerian Ministry of Finance.
Algeria has the 9th largest population and the 4th largest economy in Africa. It is also a member of the African Union, the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) and the Greater Arab Trade Area.
The number of Afreximbank Member States rose from 38 in 2015 to 51 in 2021. With Algeria’s accession, the Bank is only 3 States short of achieving full continental coverage.


Source link

What do you think?

Aggregated by Ethiopian News Digest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

The Political Economy of Liberalism | Satenaw: Ethiopian News

Neoliberalism has enabled genocide in Tigray